Trains or “choo choos,” as he calls them, are one of my 22-month-old son’s favorite things. He loves pushing them across the floor, looking at them in books, and watching them on his TV shows. He didn’t have a full train set to build himself, so I was excited to test out Brio’s My First Railway Beginner Pack.  As he’s close to being two years old, having more challenging toys that require him to put parts together himself is important to me. I was intrigued by this set by Brio, which we tested for about a month. We examined my son’s interest in the toy, his ability to build the train track, and if this was really worth the spend. Read on to see what I thought.

Design: Simple and clean 

The Brio My First Railway Beginner Pack comes with 18 pieces: one train and one rattle train car (which connect with a magnet), four ramps, one rainbow-colored bridge, eight curved track pieces, two ascending tracks, and one yellow connecting track piece. Some of the pieces are plastic, and others are made with FSC-certified solid beech wood. The Forest Stewardship Council certifies that the wood was responsibly sourced. The set is nicely designed and doesn’t feel cheap, which is good since it’s a pricier toy option.  There are two different set-ups that Brio showcases on its packaging. One that is a circular design and one that creates two separate longer tracks. After a little bit of trial and error the first time you’re putting this all together, a parent can easily get the tracks together in minutes. I love this because if I don’t want the track out in the living room, I can place the pieces in a bucket and put them away without dreading the assembly process.  However, I didn’t love that the circular track up doesn’t use all of the pieces. It would be better if there weren’t leftover random parts sitting off to the side.  I was pleased to read that Brio conducts more than 1,000 safety tests a year to ensure that their products conform to all safety standards. So as a parent, you can feel good about having your child play with this toy. 

Entertainment Value: Not super engaging for our 22-month-old 

While my son loves trains, he wasn’t excited to play with this Brio model. He’s starting to learn how to connect the tracks, which holds his attention for a few minutes, but he doesn’t spend that much time playing with this as he does with some of his other toys. Perhaps when he really grasps how to build the track, it will be more entertaining for him, but he’s not there yet. 

Age Range: Can grow with your toddler

Brio recommends this train set for children ages 18-months and up. My 22-month-old son likes to play with the trains and push them around the track. While he can’t quite build the track himself, it will be great to practice this skill with him as he gets older. Since this set is compatible with other Brio train sets, you can continue to build on this set for when your child is older and wants something more advanced. 

Ease of Cleaning: Wipe with a damp cloth

Brio didn’t include any specific cleaning instructions with the toy, but I wiped it clean with a damp cloth like other wooden toys. I did not use any cleaning sprays since the wood isn’t coated and can absorb whatever liquid is on it. For the plastic pieces, I also wiped clean with a damp cloth. 

Price: High for what you get

The Brio My First Railway Beginner Pack is sold for around $50, which, even though it is a quality product, seems high, in my opinion, given there is no technology included. The material is wood and plastic. Overall, it’s a small train set. At least it’s compatible with other Brio products so that it can last for several years. 

Brio My First Railway Beginner Pack vs. LEGO DUPLO My First Number Train Set

My son also has the LEGO DUPLO My First Number Train Set. Put alongside the Brio My First Railway Beginner Pack, my son reaches for the LEGO set most of the time. There is no track with the LEGO set, but you can still practice building as it requires a child to connect the train cars and stack LEGO blocks on top of the cars. In addition to building, the child can also practice counting and colors. The blocks are numbered from 0 to 9, and each block is a different color. It’s also cheaper at around $20 vs. Brio’s $50 price tag. For my 22-month old son, the LEGO model is the clear winner here.  Brio’s My First Railway Beginner Pack is a simple and traditional build-your-own train set for a toddler. It’s a bit pricey and not as engaging as other train sets, but it’s straightforward to put together and break down. It also connects with other Brio sets so it can grow with your child over the years.